Erik Johannessen


– Trombone trio conducts fruitful exploration  in the chordless format

Erik Johannessen – trombone

Jon Rune Strøm – bass

Erik Nylander – trommer


Øyvind Brække – trombone


Inkblots is Erik Johannessen’s first album released under his own name. This is a trombone trio album, periodically strenghtened with an extra trombone, played by Johannessen’s idol Øyvind Brække.

Inkblots is a free jazz record with both composed and improvised material, inspired by comic books, mythology, European buildings, New York and the Rorschach test, and can accommodate everything from experimental noise to glimpses of swing and sometimes even groovy and singable themes. While the music is mainly written by Johannessen; Strøm and Nylander contributes with one song each, in addition to a rendition of one of Bill Frisell´s modern standards. Four of the songs are fully improvised by the band on the basis of simple premade agreements. All this gives Inkblots a playful and varied character, but also makes way for serious and meditative moments.

The musicians have gained experience in many branches of Norwegian music, with Johannessen playing in Jaga Jazzist (Norwegian Grammy 2010 for One-Armed Bandit), Lord Kelvin and Magic Pocket, Nylander in Liarbird (Norwegian Grammy 2011) and Strøm in the critically acclaimed Frode Gjerstad Trio. Øyvind Brække’s best known project is The Source and their famous annual Christmas show.

The trio has played together since 2009 and looks forward to playing this repertoire on stages in Norway and the World.

Inkblots was recorded by Johannes Ringen in Moustache Studio and Even Ormestad in Cabin Recorders, and mixed by Audun Borrmann in Cabin Recorders. Mastered by Morten Stendahl in Redroom studio.